## Hinsdale Select Board Meeting Minutes Wednesday, June 22, 2022, at 7:00 pm Community Room, Town Hall 39 South St, Hinsdale MA

The public could attend meeting in person and by zoom

Attendees: Earl Peck, Bart Collins, Robert Graves; Clarissa Mitchell

At 7:00 pm, Earl Peck called the meeting to order, asked if anyone was recording the session, and asked everyone in attendance to silence their cell phones. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Earl Peck and seconded by Bart Collins to accept meeting minutes presented for June 8, 2022, Select Board meeting, as well as minutes from Executive Session. All said, Aye.

## Communications and Reports from Department Heads, Boards, and Chairs:

• **Shaun Galliher, Finance Chair:** Shaun noted that some accounts would be over. The finance committee will work with the Select Board, Bob, and Charlie to make the year-end transfers. The next meeting will be on July 7<sup>th</sup>.

## Robert Graves, Town Administrator:

- The MVP workshop will be on June 28th, with 12 participants. The workshop will discuss long-term planning. Once the plan goes to the State, it will open the Town up for various grants related to climate change.
- DEP requires a sewage emergency notification plan. The Town of Hinsdale has submitted its plan.
- McKenzie Doyle started as the DPW Clerk last week. Boris Basora has been training her, and we are paying him as a consultant to teach her. They will be working on getting the bills out next week.
- Rich Peters, School Committee: He introduced himself to the new Select Board.

Next, Earl Peck motioned to appoint McKenzie Doyle as DPW Clerk, and Bart Collins seconded it. All said, Aye. Then Chairman Peck motioned to appoint Jaimie Callahan as Interim DPW Superintendent for six months. Earl motioned to appoint Chief Rathbun as Deputy Emergency Management Director and Ray Bolduc as Director. Bart Collins seconded the motion.

Chairman Peck mentioned that he received a letter of interest from Dave Kokindo regarding the vacant

seat on the Board of Assessors. Earl Peck nominated him for the position. **Laura Galliher** commented that she spoke to the Board of Assessors about being on the board to help out. The Board of Assessors has not been able to send the Select Board a letter of interest nominating Laura for the vacant seat. Mr. Kokindo noted that there should be a solid platform for how to apply to be on a committee. Chairman Peck decided to revisit the open seat on the BOA at a later date.

Then, TA Graves noted that the bid for capping the Transfer Station was made public today, and offers must be in by July 11, 2022.

Earl read the names aloud for the list of Appointed Positions as follows:

**Accountant-** Charlie Browne

Administrative Assistant & Accountant Assistant- Clarissa Mitchell

ADA Coordinator& Building Inspector- Paul Greene

**Animal Control Officer** – Officer Elizabeth Zipp

Beautifications Committee – Theresa Becker, Linda Yarmey, Kelly Baldasero

Berkshire Metropolitan Planning Organization – (appointed by Select Board) Vacancy

**Berkshire Regional Transit Authority Representative** – Vacancy

Berkshire Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIPS)- Vacancy

Berkshire Regional Planning Commission Delegate – Richard Roussin (appointment by Planning Board) & Scott Rodman, Alternate (appointed by Select Board)

**Board of Health** – Fred Sears – Health Agent, Ken Boudreau

Earth Removal Inspector – Ken Boudreau

**Board of Registrars** –Holly Adams, Mary Lou Galliher, Erin Frissell-Filiault (Assistant Registrar), Michael Galliher (Assistant Registrar)

**Cemetery Committee** – Daniel Kaufman

**Community Center Committee-** Dick Eastland, Laura Galliher, Bruce McCauley, Tim Quinn, Mary Rice, Marion Tinney

Conservation Commission – Caleb Mitchell-Conservation Agent, Ray Huntoon, Rich Litchfield

**Council on Aging** – Jill Cole, Carol Pullo-Newsletter, Cathy Spinney-Co-Chairperson, Marion Tinney-Secretary, Janet Verge-Co-Chairperson, Jennifer Stark-Treasurer

**Crossing Guard** – Carole Forward

**Dalton Communications Liaison** – Richard Scialabba

**Hinsdale/Peru Cultural Council** – (Hinsdale Residents selected by the Select Board) Diane Eulian – Chair, Thomas Butler, Joe Horton, Rima Sala, John Hagan, Caitlyn Kline

**Emergency Management Agency-** Raymond Bolduc (Director), Susan Rathbun (Deputy Director), Shaun Galliher (Public Affairs Officer), Richard Scialabba, Dave Foley

**Election Workers** –Mary Lou Galliher, Holly Adams, Erin Frissell-Filiault, Michael Galliher, Lois Murray, Lorinda Smith, Michael Ciaburri, Terry Douglas, Dion Douglas, Richard Scialabba, Chris Pike, Cynthia DiPierro, Paula Rhorer, Candice Galeucia, Stephen Lanphear, Judy Quail, Bruce Alexander, Russell Parks, Dave Thorton (*sworn in as needed by Town Clerk*)

**Fire Department Chief** – Ralph Cormier

Finance Committee- Shaun Galliher

Interim DPW Superintendent- Jaimie Callahan

Highway Crew- Mike Patton, Michael Knappe, Bart Wappes, Jim Fox

Historical Commission - Mary Rice-Chair, Carole Forward, Judy Casey, Phil Collins, Dick Eastland

**Lake Management Committee** – Monica Montferret -Chair, Duane Bruce-Secretary, Cynthia Grippaldi, Bill Logue, Rick Koch, Matt Goggin

Massachusetts Emergency Response Commission- Chief Susan Rathbun

Municipal Light Plant – Richard Eastland, Russell Parks

North Berkshire Solid Waste Management Representative – Barry O'Keefe

**Plunkett Lake Gatekeeper** – Vacancy

**Plunkett Lake Beach Committee-** Dave Stuart-Chair, Joseph Horton, Paula Walczyk, Marlene DeAngelus, Jim Ouimette, Linda Yarmey

**Plumbing & Gas Inspector-** William Zeitler

**Police Officers** – **Full Time** –Elizabeth Zipp, Kenneth Pettibone (PFT), Dominic Crupi, Ian Curtiss, **Part-Time** – Miguel Santana, Jean-Claude Calixte

Town Treasurer/Collector- Lynne Baumgartner

Town Counsel – Kopelman & Paige; Mead, Talerman & Costa, Special Counsel

Transfer Station Attendant- Barry O'Keefe

Veteran's Agent (Under contract at City of Pittsfield) – John Herrera

War Memorial Committee –Bill Basilere, Richard Eastland, Ken Kirchner, Tom Butler, Wayne Walton

Water & Sewer Clerk- McKenzie Doyle

Water & Sewer Committee- Russell Parks-Chair, Mary Rice-Secretary, Laura Galliher, Dick Eastland, Monica Montferret

**Water Treatment Facility-** Bernie St. Marin- Primary Operator, Nate Murphy-Secondary Operator, Norine St. Martin, Alternate

Web Master- Boris Basora

Wired & Electrical Inspector – Dana Spring

**Zoning Board of Appeals** –Jeffrey Viner-Chair, Bruce Alexander, Daniel Thornton, Dion Douglas-Alternate, Terry Douglas-Secretary

Next, the Select Board had to approve the following Gravel Permits:

- Earl motioned to approve annual Gravel Permits for Allen Bird, Windsor Land Clearing, Bart seconded, and all said Aye.
- Earl motioned to approve annual Gravel Permits for Berkshire Concrete; Bart seconded all and said, Aye.
- Earl motioned to approve annual Gravel Permits for D.R. Billings, Bart seconded, and all said Aye.
- Earl motioned to approve Nichols Sand & Gravel for a permit, Bart seconded, and all said Aye.
- Earl motioned to approve William E. Tatro for a gravel permit; Bart seconded and said, Aye.
- Earl motioned to approve annual Gravel Permits for Noco Enterprises, seconded, all said, Aye.

Lastly, Chairman Peck noted that he received Dick Scialabba's letter of resignation effect 4:00 pm today.

At 7:35 pm, Earl motioned to adjourn the Open Meeting to go into Executive Session for Exemption 2: To conduct strategy sessions in preparation for negotiations with nonunion personnel. Motion: Move into executive session to conduct strategy sessions in preparation for negotiations with nonunion personnel and to not reconvene in open session. Roll call vote: Earl said Yes, Bart said Yes. The public left the meeting.

Clarissa Mitchell	
Earl Peck-Chair	

Respectfully submitted,

Bart Collins- SB Member